Autumn

Yesterday was the official first day of autumn. It has not been the hottest of summers up here in the north, but I had hoped that a little of summer might linger on into September. So I was a little alarmed as I walked back from the laundry this evening and noticed leaves tinged with crimson and gold. Certainly most of the forest is still clothed in its lush summer green, but today the wind has blown restlessly through our bit of Sweden, pushing puffy grey cloudbanks across the sky, and there is a chill in the air which says that autumn is here and winter is close. Summer seems to have quietly slipped away. Reminds me of a song from way back in the seventies by John Denver:

It seems a shame to see September swallowed by the wind
And more than that its oh so sad to see the summer end
And though the changing colours are a lovely sight to see
If it were mine to make a change I think I’d let it be…
But I don’t remember hearing anybody asking me

The words didn’t mean much to me back then, being unaccustomed to this northern climate, but now perhaps I understand the quiet sadness a little better.

Tomorrow, after more than a year’s “sabbatical,” I start work again as a doctor, at a health centre here in Örebro. I must admit to more than a little apprehension as I embark on this next stage of my life, trying to do my job in a new language, not to mention a new system. Another new season of life…

Leave a Reply

