På väg till jobbet

Cycling slowly back from the supermarket today I was passed by a truck with a large advertisement on the side for my school: Wadköpings UC (utbildningscenter = education centre). It depicted four confident, enthusiastic, trendy looking young people, striding into the future. Above them were the words: På vägen till jobbet (On the way to a job!!)

That, of course, is one of the reasons I am desperately trying to get my mind around this new language. As much as I like being home and studying for its own sake, one of these days I am going to have to get a job. And I cannot be registered as a doctor until I can speak the language.

I didn’t feel like one of those trendy youngsters. I felt uncool, lacking in confidence and old. But the words were encouraging. Hopefully Wadköpings UC will get me there, one of these days. At least I am “on the way!”

Leave a Reply

