Far off horizon

“The far off horizon impressed me no less. Once again, as in childhood, I saw the soft blue distance inviting me like an open door. And once again I was overcome by the feeling that I was not born for the life of a perpetual stay-at-home among my fellow men in towns and houses, but for pilgrimages through foreign lands and journeys over the sea. I felt the old melancholy impulse to fling myself on God’s breast and merge my own insignificant life into the infinite and eternal.”

(Peter Camenzind, by Hermann Hesse)

One thought on “Far off horizon

  1. Hi Dave,

    That sounds romantic, if a little melancholic … though I can’t imagine you being a perpetual stay-at-home. I guess you’re enjoying having time to read and write a little more, I think!

    Pete.

Leave a Reply

